Distinguish between the holy and the common, between the unclean and the clean..

Leviticus 10:10 says for us to “distinguish between the holy and the common, between the unclean and the clean.” What does this mean? Holy? Common?

Well. Let’s do plain ole Jane dictionary definitions to start out with.

Holy-

  1. Dedicated or consecrated to God or a religious purpose; sacred: “the Holy Bible”.
  2. (of a person) Devoted to the service of God: “saints and holy men”

Common-

  1. Occurring, found, or done often; prevalent.
  2. Belonging equally to an entire community, nation, or culture.
  3. Joint; united.
  4. Widespread; general; ordinary.
  5. Of frequent occurrence; usual; familiar.

After reading the definition of holy, why in the world would anyone want to be called common over holy anyhow? Common sounds so bland, so ordinary, so… just not appealing. What would you do if someone walked up to you and said, “Oooooh my gosh! You’re so ordinary! So general! So typical! So usual! (etc.)” How would one respond to that? That’s not a compliment at all, in my opinion. You want someone to say something like, “Wow, you sure are one of a kind!” Or something along the lines of that, I guess. Probably not as cheesy, but whatever..

God asks us in Leviticus 10:10 to be set apart from the commonness of the world. While people who aren’t following Christ are out seeking life for selfish adventure and selfish desires, the people of God should be seeking a life devoted to Him and only to Him. Our lives should look differently than people who aren’t following God. Do our lives look like that? Or, in all honesty, are we living our lives just like everyone else, commonly?

This idea all started when I was reading a book my old Sunday school teacher wrote for our Sunday school class back in eleventh grade. Chapter three was titled “Being common.” She broke down this verse for us, and it really hit home this morning while doing my devotional. I still re-read this book so often, and I just so happened to turn to this chapter. I’ve thought about it before, but never this deeply.

I bought a new journal yesterday at a local coffee shop on Saint Simons Island called Wake Up Coffee (highly recommended, by the way.) It was special, because it was handmade from Haiti. All profits of these journals and a lot of other handmade goodies profited people that are struggling in Haiti, and it made me want to put this journal to a special use. After reading Leviticus 10:10 this morning, I thought, “Why hasn’t this verse spoken this much to me before?” I’ve heard it over and over, just nothing has ever happened. I decided that my sweet new journal is going to be a journal based off this verse, meaning that I am no longer living my life of the world, commonly, but I am striving to live a more holier life. It’s going to be a struggle, of course. But I’m tired of living life like my life was put here to benefit me. That’s plain stupid. I don’t wanna be stupid. I wanna live for God and only for God.

I’ve probably blogged about this subject before, or something really similar, but it’s never hit home this much before. I can’t describe it, it just REALLY spoke to me. I challenge you to pray that you’ll start living a more holier life, too. It’s only my first day of actually applying it, and being SUPER passionate about it. Not to say I haven’t been passionate about serving only God before, I have, but for some reason I have always seemed to shift into being selfish again. But today, for some reason, has opened my eyes to a new light and to a new way. All thanks for this verse. I pray that each and every one of you reading this are being challenged.

In my book, she challenges us to ask ourselves these questions:

  1. What in my life is pleasing to God?
  2. What things in my life are already holy?
  3. What things in my life are common, and need to be taken out?
  4. Am I gonna remain living selfishly?
  5. ….Or! Am I gonna live a life fully devoted to God like I’ve always said I would?

When I read that my old Sunday school teacher had challenged us to ask ourselves these questions, as she had done herself, my thoughts were, “Challenge accepted.” Do you accept the challenge? Trust me, it’s gonna be tough, it’s only my first day and I’ve already been roughin it. But God does promise us that it’s gonna be all worth it in the end. I’ve found joy in the Lord today like I’ve never really found any other day. I’m loving it! I pray you’ll find that joy if you haven’t already. Accept that challenge, yea?

Leave a Reply

