If Jesus is calling, will you answer Him?

These past few weeks have been some of the most stressful, life-altering weeks I’ve experienced in a long time. Actually, I’d probably say the last month.

First change: I am transferring schools. VSU to a technical school to get my Cosmetology licenses.

Second change: I have a new car, and a new car payment. Which means..

Third change: I will no longer be living at my home in Valdosta, I will be moving back in with my parents to save money.

Fourth change: I am no longer going to school in Valdosta, I will be going to school in Thomasville.

Fifth change: I will have to find a new job in Thomasville, and quit the daycare job.

Sixth change: MY WHOLE LIFE.. Practically.. **I’m dramatic, whatever.. :)

God has surely taken me on a wild adventure these past few weeks. And I have no clue the reason for all of this. At first, it seemed like straight up madness. I cried baby tears, wondering what the heck I was supposed to do. Asking God, “WHY ME?” was my initial response. I was bitter about the whole thing, and to be more honest I still am a teeny bit. It all started because I was following what I felt like God wanted me to do, to pursue my dream career of being a hair dresser. And all of this switch-up came along with it. I was fighting with every thing I could to not have to undergo all of this change, and I just found myself even more upset. I have finally accepted it, and I have a peace about it all. Everything happens for a reason, and God’s timing is always perfect.
I have peace, because I have God and I have chosen to stay in His presence.

I just started reading Jesus Calling, it’s a one year devotional. I started half way through in May, but I’m gonna make my way into reading it until next May. I’m only on day 10, but I wanted to share what each day has been about so far. 

Day one: “You are never separated from Him, though you must see Him through eyes of faith.

Day two: “Come close to Him and let His light envelop you, driving you out of the darkness and permeating you with peace.”
Day three: “He offers abundant life; your part is to trust Him, refusing to worry about anything.” ..and.. “Stop all your striving, and watch and see what He will do. He is the LORD.”
Day four: “Rejoice in what He is doing in your life, even though it is beyond your understanding.”
Day five: “There are hidden treasures strategically placed along the way. Some of the treasures are trials, designed to shake you free from earth- shackles. Others are blessings that reveal His presence: sunshine, flowers, birds, friendships, answered prayer.”
Day six: “Bring to Him your mind for rest and renewal. Let Him infuse His presence into your thoughts.”
Day seven: “In a world of unrelenting changes, He is the One who never changes.”
Day eight: “Ask the Holy Spirit to control your thinking, be transformed by this renewal within you. Thus you are well equipped to face whatever people and situations He brings your way.”
Day nine: “Your mind leaps from problem to problem, tangling your thoughts in anxious knots. When you think like that, you leave Him out of your world-view and your mind becomes darkened.”
Day ten: “As His presence envelops you, you may feel overwhelmed by His power and glory. This is a form of worship: sensing your smallness in comparison to His greatness.”

If this isn’t God yelling, “LET GO OF YOUR WORRIES, TRUST IN ME, I HAVE A PLAN!” to me, then I don’t know what it is. He has so clearly spoken to me, and has called upon me to wait out on His plan. It may be tough, but as I draw near to Him, He will draw near to me. He is so much greater than me, and His plans are so much greater than my plans. I am only a small part of His ultimate plan, and these trials are only going to strengthen me.

I’m sharing all of this, just to share how God is moving in my life. He’s moving SO powerfully, and so quick from what it seems like. Every day I am faced with a new change, and it’s so warming to know it’s all taken care of. That HE is bigger than any of that. God is calling, I am finally listening. Are you listening to what He is telling you to do? Just a thought. :) 

Leave a Reply

