Caught Red Handed

Last night when I was driving home, it was real late, so it was pitch black outside. I was driving along, when all of a sudden I heard a good sized “thump” hit the windshield. I didn’t see anything hit it, but I sure did see the guts that whatever it was left behind! It was clear, at that point, that it was a bug. It left it’s remains, and it was very obvious as to how it lived its whole life: as a bug, of course!

My immediate thought, oddly enough, was, “If I were to die, would my life give glory to God,  leaving behind the remains that show a life lived for Him?” How in the world was I thinking this deep thought at midnight after I was already extremely sleepy is beyond me, but it popped up, anyhow, and that’s all that really matters. Right?

If I were to die at any given moment, would people remember me as “that girl sure did love Jesus a whole lot, and followed Him with all of her heart!” or would people remember me as a girl who lived her life to please herself and the world? That’s a tough question..

I would hope others would know without a doubt where I stand with the Lord, but, do you ever have those days where you are just rude to every one you come into contact with? Or, do you ever flip up the finger to the right of your ring finger at people when they’re driving absolutely ridiculous? Or, how about not show appreciation to the person taking your order at a fast food restaurant? What’s your reaction to the person bagging your groceries at Publix? Would any of these guys be able to tell where you stand by how you treat them?

I know some days, in my life, probably not. I got to thinking, it’s even down to the little things like this that help people know where you stand, even encourage them. And little things like that portray the love of Christ to others just as good as going on a mission trip to help out people in another country. I’ve thought about this before, and quite often actually, so I do try and make an effort and most days I’m alright. But those times when we slip, are still crucial. We are supposed to be lights of the world. We are supposed to shine His little light for others to see.

Today has been a rough day. Toyota’s service department, rental department, and parts department are all off. What!! And as the receptionist, I get to deal with all of the mad customers who are stranded at thier home with a dead battery, or someone with a car in need of an oil change, or someone who needs their tires to be deliverered and put on TODAY. Many of them have been  demanding, rude, and treat you with no respect! What in this world?! I’m just the recpectionist! But, they still hear the tone of my voice when I handle their atttitude and rudeness. It’s so easy to just smart off right back to them, but is that how the Lord would want me to respond?

………..Nope.

We all should live lives that give glory to the Lord at all times. You never know when you’re going, and when I do go, I’d like others to know where I stand. How bout you? Will you be caught red-handed with Jesus’ blood? That’s my prayer for you and I both. That we’ll live a life to honor Jesus and all He’s done for us.

Romans 2:7

He will give everlasting life to those who search for glory, honor, and
immortality by persisting in doing what is good.

1 Corinthians 10:31

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.

Matthew 5:16

In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good
deeds and praise your Father in heaven.

Until next time,
Chelsie :)

Leave a Reply

