How He Loves.

Yall know what song never, ever gets old? How He Loves.

I remember the first time the Lord absolutely wrecked me with that song. It wasn’t the first time I had actually heard it, that was a also a neat experience, but this was the first time that I had just worshipped, fully surrendered, giving my ALL. I was in 11th grade, sitting by my best friend Louisa, worshipping at a place of ministry called The Warehouse. We had just finished hearing an AWESOME message, and they had the time to respond afterwards. We all started off worshipping to How He Loves at our seats. By the end of the song, we were all down at the front of the stage, just worshipping so freely. I remember I cried, yall I hate crying, but I cried! Tears of joy, tears of surrender. We were all surrdendered to the Lord just at His feet. It was the most beautiful sight, all of us in such an intimate setting with everyone’s hearts just broken and all of our worries laid at His feet.

When I was growing up, I had plenty of mistakes and plenty of regrets. I didn’t make great choices, and my 11th grade year was a time where I really grew with the Lord, but also had a couple of events that I am not too proud of. When I heard this song, especially the part where it’s written, “If grace is an ocean, we’re all sinking,” THAT part just covered my emotions and my regrets and my shame and EVERYthing that I ever struggled with like a warm blanket. Think about that. If grace is an ocean, and we’re all sinking.. THINK ABOUT IT. How big is an ocean? I can’t even fathom it. Also, when you think of someone “sinking” in an ocean, does anyone think of Jack, Rose, and The Titanic?

Compare the Titanic story to grace.

We, humans, are Jack. Eh, we can name Rose “the world.” The ocean is grace, of course. Do yall remember that edge-of-your-seat moment in the Titanic, when Rose and Jack are holding on to eachother as Rose sits elevated above water on a broken door, and Jack is halfway in the water, halfway holding on to Rose? That’s where a lot of us find ourselves, or have found ourselves, am I right? In Jack’s position. We are halfway in the world, and halfway falling into grace. We hold on for so long to the world and the things the world offers. We struggle, we strain, we are on the edge of death. We can’t hold onto the world, it offers nothing that is eternal. When we let go of the world, and fall into grace and into the Lord, we are free. In the Titanic, Jack finally lets go of Rose and falls into the ocean. When we finally let go of the world, we fall into the Lord’s grace.

Grace: God’s grace is something God does for the benefit of His people just because He
loves them, not because of something they have done to earn it.  Grace is a gift
and can never be earned.  It’s always totally free. If we accept
the pardon that God offers us, not only will we not die, He then gives us a life
that will never end.  He continues by giving us an awesome room in His own home
to live in, unlimited resources, and total freedom.  That is God’s
GRACE. (http://www.bibletimelines.org/framedgrace.html)

Is that as awesome to yall as it is to me? That’s so nuts to me! How much the Lord has done for us, and He still wants to LOVE US! What?! What in the world? I can’t understand why He would ever, BUT that’s the thing, we aren’t supposed to be able to understand every bit. He loves US, and we love HIM.

How He Loves lyrics

He is jealous for me,
Loves like a hurricane, I am a tree,
Bending beneath the weight of His wind and mercy.
When all of a sudden,
I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory,
And I realize just how beautiful You are,
And how great Your affections are for me

Oh, how He loves us,
How He loves us all

And we are His portion and He is our prize,
Drawn to redemption by the grace in His eyes,
If grace is an ocean, we’re all sinking.
So Heaven meets earth like a sloppy kiss,
And my heart turns violently inside of my chest,
I don’t have time to maintain these regrets,
When I think about the way…

He loves us.

How NEAT are these lyrics?! Take some time and just think on them. Thank Him for His love and His grace. Thank Him for everything He’s done for us, and for the extent of his love. How great is our God, really?!

Until next time,

Chelsie. :)

5 comments

  1. […] a few hours before I walked into the doors of First Baptist, I wrote a post ALL about grace! (here: https://wakeywakeysunshine.wordpress.com/2012/09/11/how-he-loves/) It’s neat how the Lord works like that in cool little ways! Like this:LikeBe the first to […]

  2. […] How He Loves. (wakeywakeysunshine.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] How He Loves. (wakeywakeysunshine.wordpress.com) Rate this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

  4. that is my favorite worship song!! The lyrics are so moving….

    1. It really is. I can listen to it over and over, and it has just the same effect on me! Love it!

Leave a Reply

