Crosspointe Church notes.

This weekend, I visited Valdosta to see old friends and my old roommates. It was a nice, freshing weekend. On Sunday, I visited my old church from my freshman year of college, CrossPointe. Our pastor’s sermon was just what I needed here lately. I’ll give yall the run down, because I think it’s important for us all to hear and apply to our own lives.

Spiritual Stability was the title of his sermon, and he spoke on a few verses from Philippians. (3:7-11)

He explained that our joy must come from the LORD, not from anything else.

He said to receive this joy, we must get to know the Lord through:

1.  walking with Him, and obeying His word. We must live with Him, and for Him. (Philippians 3:7-8)

2. fellowship with Christ. Our joy must be found in HIM and in communion with Him. (Philippians 3:8-9)

3. His power. We must know Him intimately and recognize Him and His power. The power of the Lord will sustain you, and you can do all things through Him. (Philippians 3:10)

How good are these notes? It really grabbed my attention. At the beginning of his sermon, he showed a video that a team had put together, and it showed how unstable we really are through our social media updates via Twitter or Facebook. Do yall ever see a trend throughout the week of how much joy you feel in your heart?

I do, sure enough.

The pastor explained that there are three things that our instability comes from:

1. adversary from the devil. He tries to distract us and discourage us DAILY. (1 Peter 5:8)

2. our flesh. Our flesh is weak, and it causes us to sin. (Matthew 26:41)

3. the world. The world causes us to get distracted from God and stray away from Him. (1 John 2:15)

He explained that only CHRIST can offer us stability, and that we should find contentment in Christ ALONE in our lives.

How comforting is this? If we look to the Lord, no matter what our circumstance, we will have joy. No matter what is happening in our lives, we WILL have joy. He never changes. He is the same today, that He was yesterday, and that He will be tomorrow (Hebrews 13:8Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.“) He is the ultimate comforter.

The pastor left us with this verse:

2 Corinthians 12:9-10

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect
in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so
that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in
hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am
strong.

Oh, what a blessing. He tells us to delight in our weaknesses, during hardships, insults, in persecutions, and in difficult times. He tells us that it makes us STRONGER when we go through all of these things.

Today, as I have rude customers at work that approach me over the telephone, or when my order at lunch just isn’t right, or when my parents say something that I don’t agree with or that I want to complain about, or when a friend or loved one is hurtful, all you can do is look to the Lord, and you’ll still have joy. Even when things don’t go your way or the right way.

Today, I am so thankful for that. Our God is AWESOME. Is He not?

Happy Monday, friends.

-Chelsie.

One comment

  1. Chels .. probably every pastor wonders if and how his sermons are being received. What an encouragement to this pastor to know that you took the notes .. and then spent time sharing them with others. How blessed I was by them! I love Nehemiah 8:10, “The JOY of the Lord is our STRENGTH!” IT IS! Keep on writin’! You feed my faith!

Leave a Reply

